Here’s to February

When the post’s title takes direct inspiration from a song in Kamelot’s Haven…

January was an absolute blur, with most days spent in either holidays (we had 2 major holidays within only one month – New Year and Lunar New Year) or anticipation and preparations for such; so it’s safe to say I didn’t have quite the most productive and eventful month ever apart from loads of new shoes and days off spent with family and close friends. Sounds great, doesn’t it, and it indeed was a damn good time; even though the resolutions I had created were neglected ruthlessly.

February, however, is a month of high productivity and developments. Let’s start by jotting down what I have had accomplished and what I failed:

READ:


  • The Time Traveler’s Wife (Audrey Niffenegger) dismissed half-way in, the main 2 characters basically morph into each other, and that’s not the kind of romance I particularly enjoy)
  • A few Sherlock Holmes (Sir Arthur Conan Doyle) chapters (Sherlock Season 4 prompted this action)
  • The Girl Who Played With Fire & The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest (Stieg Larsson) killer reads, loved every moment of them sans the IKEA catalogues – this took off several years after I had finished reading the first book (The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo)
  • And Then There Were None (Agatha Christie) a short afternoon read, quite interesting though even after reading I cannot work out how the man responsible arranged and executed (excuse the pun) all the killings
  • The Bone Collector (Jeffery Deaver) I basically finished reading this whole shebang in one day. Classic Deaver style, thrilling, chilling and a little merciless but I’m still not satisfied with the explanation provided. It seems my reading speed has increasing significantly lately.
16640607_10210269058940901_7708061207683338286_n
Miss Misery

A few articles / work-related books here and there. Have I ever mentioned that reading Wikipedia articles is my jam? I happened to read about MENSA, Celebral Hemorrhage and Colt Magnum for no particular reason whatsoever. This month has been so rich in literature, eh?

WATCH:


Sherlock Season 4 (good watch, but I dearly missed the old crime-solving fashion in season 1 and 2), xXx The Return of Xander Cage (absolute garbage, wasted my time and money. If it wasn’t for Donnie Yen I would claim my money back), Resident Evil: The Final Chapter (in-cohesive with the previous installments, but as a standalone movie it’s a great one packed with actions and plot twists)

LISTEN:


I’ve been totally smitten with Apocalyptica all over again after all these years, especially their Amplified album. A few of my new favorite discoveries are Kohkka, Deathzone, Dead Promises, Hole In My Soul and Sea Song. The other one is Shadow Of The Dying Sun by Insomnium, which was released about 3 years ago. Until recently I had just listened to the first 2 songs but decided to give the whole album a whirl and it’s safe to say that I’m completely happy with my impulsive decision. By the very end of the month I fell even more in love with Kamelot’s The Black Halo by having Moonlight on repeat for a whole day but never got tired of it. Every single note and melody seemed like threads that entangled with each other that resulted in an irresistible harmony. My absolute favorite was Ghost Opera for a long time, until now.

DRAW:


Girl With The Phuong Tattoo

One from John Galliano’s Fall 2009 fashion show (I love the distressed makeup look), one Rooney Mara (partly because I was deeply obsessed with the book I was reading at the time, and she played Lisbeth Salander in the adaptation of the first book – so there’s a thin connection) and the last is an eye that I call Johannes used as this post’s featured image (curiously I got a lot of comments and likes on this one). I still have to get my drawings scanned and posted to DeviantArt though.

Some other things:


I changed my hair color (again) to a dark mahogany hue but it quickly turned into a reddish coppery brown, had an accident (nothing major, but an injured elbow and bruises here and there) and planning on getting a sided undercut & a tattoo (already determined about the content and presentation) because why not. What’s more, I wore heavy smokey eye makeup to work in several occasions! It was just one or two colors though, with a bronze cream shadow base and then a dark brown or similar dark hues on top, varying from shimmers to mattes paired with filled in or completely natural brows and moisturized lips. I particularly enjoyed this style since it required little time to do and was completely low-maintenance. I also spent a day by the sea with a friend of mine and his 6 friends; it was great fun getting to know more people and enjoy the salty air that I much needed. I should have weekend getaways more often.

This month, however, marked another month of abandoning my yoga class. It’s such a shame but I couldn’t bring myself to the gym, probably because ever since the change in my office’s working hour I have an hour for nothing but waiting (work ends at 5pm but yoga class starts at 6h30) so I’d rather go home and do shit. Another reason is I was so deep into reading that my time was spent rocketing through books, and sometimes drawings, but not for working out. I can feel myself getting a bit weaker and softer, so it’s high time I should get back in shape. Going to yoga classes regularly should be my resolution for March! We shall see if I can keep up with this year’s resolutions together with this dedicated one. Report ends here, farewell!

Leave a Reply

